ChiaFong

Chinese New Year is over

In Personal on 13 February, 2006 at 5:54 am

Yesterday was the end of a 15 days celebration of Chinese New Year.  Of course in modern day Singapore, we celebrate only the first few days.  But the last day of traditional Chinese New Year celebration is still followed by a lot of people.  In Hokkien, Chap-Ghor Meh means the 15th night of Chinese New Year.  And on this night most families reunite to have a banquet and celebrate the end of Chinese New Year.  This night is also considered as a Chinese Valentine day, so some lovers will be out celebrating after the dinner.

For me, yesterday coincide with my Grandmother’s birthday celebration (or more specifically my wife’s grandmother).  We had a buffet dinner at my Grandma’s house.  A lot of relatives were there and it was quite a celebration.  When the celebration ends, one of my relative said “See you all next year” and it hit me.

It is kind of sad that only a few of our relatives get together and mingle around throughout the year.  We only get to see most other relatives during big event like Chinese New Year and the birthday celebration of our Grandma.  The kind of big family spirit can only now be found in our textbook.  But will I go out and meetup with my other relatives?  I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

