ChiaFong

Talking about books

In Books on 20 June, 2006 at 3:00 pm

I am recently without a decent book to read again.  However, I hope it won’t be long since I am ordering the latest Dark Disciple series from Magaret Weis.  In the mean time I have been re-reading some of the books that have been collecting dust on my book shelf.  And why not to start with my all time favourite.  The Magician by Raymond E. Feist.  This is actually 2 books in 1.  Raymond E. Feist started with The Magician: Apprentice and then followed it by The Magician: Master.  If you consider Lord of the Rings by J.R. Tolkien to be the Fantasy novel then The Magician by Raymond E. Feist in my opinion should stood side by side.  In fact, I find The Magician more of my type rather than Lord of the Rings, I can’t finish reading Lord of the Rings, I can’t get past the middle part of the 2nd book.  Raymond E. Feist book is fascinating from start to the end.

Following the path of the kitchen boy Pug who grew to become the greatest magician of Midkemia was simply enjoyment to the extent of ecstasy (OK, I am a bit exaggerating here, but you get what I mean).  Thus reading the book again after so many years is still a sheer enjoyment.  I sure hope that one day someone like Peter Jackson will make this novel into an excellent movie.

Leave a Reply

